Reference sheet
MOSFET comparison
Which jellybean part actually switches fully at 3.3V or 5V

MOSFET comparison
The one spec that decides a project: does this part turn fully on at a 3.3V or 5V gate, or does it need the full 10V a microcontroller pin can never supply? "Logic-level" means the datasheet itself guarantees a low Rds(on) somewhere in the 3.3–5V range — a part with no entry in that column (BS170, IRF540N) is not broken, it simply was never characterized down there, and driving it straight from a GPIO pin leaves it partly on, dissipating real heat instead of switching cleanly. The 2N7000 is the in-between case: its datasheet does guarantee 4.5V operation, but only at 75 mA — enough for a logic signal or an LED, not for a motor. AO3401 is the P-channel complement to AO3400 above it — same package, same voltage class, opposite polarity.
| Part | Type | Package | Vds max | Id max | Vgs(th) | Rds(on) @ 4.5V | Rds(on) @ 10V | Logic-level |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2N7000 | N | TO-92 | 60 V | 200 mA | 0.8–3.0 V | ≤6 Ω, guaranteed at 75 mA only | ≤5 Ω (typ. 1.2 Ω) | Small loads only |
| BS170 | N | TO-92 | 60 V | 500 mA | 0.8–3.0 V | Not specified — this part is only characterized at 10V | ≤5 Ω (typ. 1.8 Ω) | No |
| IRLZ44N | N | TO-220 | 55 V | 47 A | 1.0–2.0 V | ≤25 mΩ at 5V (≤35 mΩ at 4V) | ≤22 mΩ | Yes |
| IRF540N | N | TO-220 | 100 V | 33 A | 2.0–4.0 V | Not specified — needs a full 10V gate drive to reach its rated Rds(on) | ≤44 mΩ | No |
| IRLB8721 | N | TO-220 | 30 V | 62 A | 1.35–2.35 V | ≤16 mΩ | ≤8.7 mΩ | Yes |
| AO3400 | N | SOT-23 | 30 V | 5.8 A | 0.65–1.45 V | ≤33 mΩ | ≤28 mΩ | Yes |
| Si2302 | N | SOT-23 | 20 V | 2.3 A | 0.4–1.2 V (varies by exact variant) | ≤85 mΩ | Not specified — spec’d at 4.5V/2.5V for low-voltage logic use, not 10V | Yes |
| FQP30N06L | N | TO-220 | 60 V | 32 A | 1.0–2.5 V | ≤45 mΩ (spec’d at 5V) | ≤35 mΩ | Yes |
| AO3401 | P | SOT-23 | −30 V | −4.0 A | ≈−0.9 V typ. | ≤60 mΩ | ≤50 mΩ | Yes |







